Lutheran Schoolhouse

Lutheran Schoolhouse,
18. century

  • English
    • German
    • French
    • Dutch

Visitors of the house of the "Altbürgermeister Strub" winery today will most likely come by for a good glass of wine and a few happy hours in the wine tavern.

But back about 1765 there was another spirit in the room: the house was once the school house of the Lutheran parish. Here the children learned the ABCs - and were brought up in the spirit of Martin Luther's teaching.
At that time the Protestant Church was strictly separated into Lutherans and Reformed. And one of their central issues had something to do with wine: While Luther taught that God was physically present at the Lord's Supper in bread and wine, the Reformed understood bread and wine more as symbols. After the Protestant church union in the 19th century, this dispute was settled. Today one understands the wine here more in the sense of the Greek god Dionysus, who liked the wine I a much more practical way: as a delicious, cultivated beverage that instead of dividing people from another rather promotes social integration and happiness.
The map at the end of this website shows you how to get to our next stop.

Route to the next station:

Dalberg-Herding Castle

Lutheran Schoolhouse,
18. century

  • English
    • German
    • French
    • Dutch

Visitors of the house of the "Altbürgermeister Strub" winery today will most likely come by for a good glass of wine and a few happy hours in the wine tavern.

But back about 1765 there was another spirit in the room: the house was once the school house of the Lutheran parish. Here the children learned the ABCs - and were brought up in the spirit of Martin Luther's teaching.
At that time the Protestant Church was strictly separated into Lutherans and Reformed. And one of their central issues had something to do with wine: While Luther taught that God was physically present at the Lord's Supper in bread and wine, the Reformed understood bread and wine more as symbols. After the Protestant church union in the 19th century, this dispute was settled. Today one understands the wine here more in the sense of the Greek god Dionysus, who liked the wine I a much more practical way: as a delicious, cultivated beverage that instead of dividing people from another rather promotes social integration and happiness.
The map at the end of this website shows you how to get to our next stop.

Route to the next station:

Dalberg-Herding Castle

Also available in: Deutsch Français Nederlands

Lutherisches Schulhaus

Lutherisches Schulhaus
18. Jhd.

  • Deutsch
    • Englisch
    • Französisch
    • Niederländisch

Wer heute das Haus des Weinguts „Altbürgermeister Strub“ betritt, kommt hier wahrscheinlich auf ein gutes Glas Wein vorbei und ein paar frohe Stunden in der Straußwirtschaft.

Um das Jahr 1765 wehte hier in der Stube noch ein anderer Geist – da war das Haus noch das Schulhaus der lutherischen Kirchengemeinde. Hier büffelten die Kinder das ABC – und wurden dabei auch gleich im Sinne der Lehre Martin Luthers erzogen.
Damals war die evangelische Kirche noch streng getrennt in Lutheraner und Reformierte. Eine ihrer zentralen Streitfragen hat aber doch wieder etwas mit Wein zu tun: Während Luther nämlich lehrte, dass Gott beim Abendmahl leibhaftig anwesend sei in Brot und Wein, verstanden die Reformierten Brot und Wein eher als Symbole. Nach der Kirchenunion im 19. Jahrhundert wurde dieser Streit beigelegt. Heute versteht man hier den Wein wohl eher im Sinne des griechischen Gottes Dionysos, der dem Wein huldigte als das was er ist: eine leckeres, kultiviertes Tröpfchen, das statt zu spalten eher das gesellige Miteinander (und den Diskurs) fördert.
Wie Sie zur nächsten Station kommen, sehen Sie auf der Karte weiter unten auf der Website.

Route zur nächsten Station:

Schloss Dalberg-Herding

Lutherisches Schulhaus,
18. Jhd.

  • Deutsch
    • Englisch
    • Französisch
    • Niederländisch

Wer heute das Haus des Weinguts „Altbürgermeister Strub“ betritt, kommt hier wahrscheinlich auf ein gutes Glas Wein vorbei und ein paar frohe Stunden in der Straußwirtschaft.

Um das Jahr 1765 wehte hier in der Stube noch ein anderer Geist – da war das Haus noch das Schulhaus der lutherischen Kirchengemeinde. Hier büffelten die Kinder das ABC – und wurden dabei auch gleich im Sinne der Lehre Martin Luthers erzogen.
Damals war die evangelische Kirche noch streng getrennt in Lutheraner und Reformierte. Eine ihrer zentralen Streitfragen hat aber doch wieder etwas mit Wein zu tun: Während Luther nämlich lehrte, dass Gott beim Abendmahl leibhaftig anwesend sei in Brot und Wein, verstanden die Reformierten Brot und Wein eher als Symbole. Nach der Kirchenunion im 19. Jahrhundert wurde dieser Streit beigelegt. Heute versteht man hier den Wein wohl eher im Sinne des griechischen Gottes Dionysos, der dem Wein huldigte als das was er ist: eine leckeres, kultiviertes Tröpfchen, das statt zu spalten eher das gesellige Miteinander (und den Diskurs) fördert.
Wie Sie zur nächsten Station kommen, sehen Sie auf der Karte weiter unten auf der Website.

Route zur nächsten Station:

Schloss Dalberg-Herding

Also available in: English Français Nederlands