Haxthäuser Hof

Haxthäuser Court

  • English
    • German
    • French
    • Dutch

Nierstein and the nobility are inseparable in history.

The old noble courts shape the look of the city to this day. And if you walk through the old town center, you will see that early Nierstein has in fact developed along the line of the courts – partly dating back to the 12th century.

The baroque Haxthäuser Court in front of us is one of the most eminent courtyards in Nierstein. Not only judging by its architecture with its beautiful inner courtyard, which hosts a nice wine tavern behind the large courtyard gate today. But also economically and politically. The estate was rather wealthy and in its long history was owned by many noble families of high standing.

Since 1804 the Haythäuser Court has been owned by the Wernher family. Johann Wilhelm Wernher, who bought the court at this time, was also the judge during the trail of the notorious robber Schinderhannes, who had spread fear and terror in the Hunsrück forest. Wernhers son, Philipp Wilhelm Wernher, was a member of the National Assembly in Frankfurt's St. Paul’s Cathedral in 1848 - the first freely elected German parliament – which marked the birth of democracy in Germany. Wernher's fiery plea for freedom and unity was greeted with cheers and much applause. At the end of the 19th century Ernst Wernher was the mayor of Nierstein. During his tenure the Rheinbahn railway track was built, which also initiated a new era in Nierstein. And Carl Friedrich Wernher was a fire brigade commander in World War II, and it is said the he did nothing less but saving the Mainz Main Cathedral from destruction during the fire blaze caused by the bombardments in 1942.
Isn’t it interesting, how much history is reflected in such a house, and how many stories one could tell… Well, we have a few more of them here in Nierstein.

Our next stop is the house with pillars and the balcony just across the crossroad. The paleontological museum.

If you have been taking our tour 2, which started from the town hall, go around and follow the Rheinstraße to the number36.
But, as mentioned before: if you have just started our tour 1, then go to the house with the pillars, please.

Route to the next station:

Palaeontological Museum

Haxthäuser Court

  • English
    • German
    • French
    • Dutch

Nierstein and the nobility are inseparable in history.

The old noble courts shape the look of the city to this day. And if you walk through the old town center, you will see that early Nierstein has in fact developed along the line of the courts – partly dating back to the 12th century.

The baroque Haxthäuser Court in front of us is one of the most eminent courtyards in Nierstein. Not only judging by its architecture with its beautiful inner courtyard, which hosts a nice wine tavern behind the large courtyard gate today. But also economically and politically. The estate was rather wealthy and in its long history was owned by many noble families of high standing.

Since 1804 the Haythäuser Court has been owned by the Wernher family. Johann Wilhelm Wernher, who bought the court at this time, was also the judge during the trail of the notorious robber Schinderhannes, who had spread fear and terror in the Hunsrück forest. Wernhers son, Philipp Wilhelm Wernher, was a member of the National Assembly in Frankfurt's St. Paul’s Cathedral in 1848 - the first freely elected German parliament – which marked the birth of democracy in Germany. Wernher's fiery plea for freedom and unity was greeted with cheers and much applause. At the end of the 19th century Ernst Wernher was the mayor of Nierstein. During his tenure the Rheinbahn railway track was built, which also initiated a new era in Nierstein. And Carl Friedrich Wernher was a fire brigade commander in World War II, and it is said the he did nothing less but saving the Mainz Main Cathedral from destruction during the fire blaze caused by the bombardments in 1942.
Isn’t it interesting, how much history is reflected in such a house, and how many stories one could tell… Well, we have a few more of them here in Nierstein.

Our next stop is the house with pillars and the balcony just across the crossroad. The paleontological museum.

If you have been taking our tour 2, which started from the town hall, go around and follow the Rheinstraße to the number36.
But, as mentioned before: if you have just started our tour 1, then go to the house with the pillars, please.

Route zur nächsten Station:

Palaeontological Museum

Also available in: Deutsch Français Nederlands

Haxthäuser Hof

Haxthäuser Hof

  • Deutsch
    • Englisch
    • Französisch
    • Niederländisch

Nierstein und der Adel sind in ihrer Geschichte untrennbar miteinander verbunden.

Die alten Adelshöfe prägen bis heute das Stadtbild – und wenn Sie durch den alten Ortskern gehen, werden Sie erkennen, dass sich die Stadt entlang der Linie der Adelshöfe entwickelt hat, die hier schon ab dem 12. Jahrhundert standen.
Der barocke Haxthäuser Hof, vor dem wir hier stehen, gehört zu den prägendsten Höfen in Nierstein. Nicht nur baulich mit seinem schönen Innenhof, der hier hinter dem großen Hoftor heute eine Gutsschenke beherbergt. Sondern auch wirtschaftlich und politisch. Der Hof war sehr begütert und in seiner langen Geschichte im Besitz vieler Adelsfamilien von Rang und Namen.
Seit 1804 ist er in Familienbesitz der Familie Wernher – Johann Wilhelm Wernher, der den Hof damals ersteigerte, führte 1803 als Richter den Prozess gegen den berüchtigten Räuber Schinderhannes, der in den Wäldern des Hunsrück ein Unwesen trieb. Sein Sohn Philipp Wilhelm Wernher gehörte 1848 der Nationalversammlung in der Frankfurter Pauskirche an – dem ersten frei gewählten deutschen Parlament – der Geburtsstunde der Demokratie in Deutschland. Wernhers flammende Plädoyers für die Freiheit und Einheit wurden mit Bravorufen und viel Applaus bedacht. Ernst Wernher war Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts Bürgermeister in Nierstein, während seiner Amtszeit entstand die Rheinbahn, die auch in Nierstein ein neues Zeitalter einläutete. Und von Carl Friedrich Wernher sagt man, dass er als Feuerwehrkommandant im Zweiten Weltkrieg nicht weniger als den Mainzer Dom vor der Zerstörung gerettet hat.
Sie sehen, wie viel Geschichte und wie viele Geschichten (!) in so einem Haus stecken – und davon haben wir hier in Nierstein noch einige mehr.

 

Wie Sie zur nächsten Station kommen, sehen Sie auf der Karte weiter unten auf der Website.

Route zur nächsten Station:

Altes Rathaus/
Paläontologisches Museum

Haxthäuser Hof

  • Deutsch
    • Englisch
    • Französisch
    • Niederländisch

Nierstein und der Adel sind in ihrer Geschichte untrennbar miteinander verbunden.

Die alten Adelshöfe prägen bis heute das Stadtbild – und wenn Sie durch den alten Ortskern gehen, werden Sie erkennen, dass sich die Stadt entlang der Linie der Adelshöfe entwickelt hat, die hier schon ab dem 12. Jahrhundert standen.
Der barocke Haxthäuser Hof, vor dem wir hier stehen, gehört zu den prägendsten Höfen in Nierstein. Nicht nur baulich mit seinem schönen Innenhof, der hier hinter dem großen Hoftor heute eine Gutsschenke beherbergt. Sondern auch wirtschaftlich und politisch. Der Hof war sehr begütert und in seiner langen Geschichte im Besitz vieler Adelsfamilien von Rang und Namen.
Seit 1804 ist er in Familienbesitz der Familie Wernher – Johann Wilhelm Wernher, der den Hof damals ersteigerte, führte 1803 als Richter den Prozess gegen den berüchtigten Räuber Schinderhannes, der in den Wäldern des Hunsrück ein Unwesen trieb. Sein Sohn Philipp Wilhelm Wernher gehörte 1848 der Nationalversammlung in der Frankfurter Pauskirche an – dem ersten frei gewählten deutschen Parlament – der Geburtsstunde der Demokratie in Deutschland. Wernhers flammende Plädoyers für die Freiheit und Einheit wurden mit Bravorufen und viel Applaus bedacht. Ernst Wernher war Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts Bürgermeister in Nierstein, während seiner Amtszeit entstand die Rheinbahn, die auch in Nierstein ein neues Zeitalter einläutete. Und von Carl Friedrich Wernher sagt man, dass er als Feuerwehrkommandant im Zweiten Weltkrieg nicht weniger als den Mainzer Dom vor der Zerstörung gerettet hat.
Sie sehen, wie viel Geschichte und wie viele Geschichten (!) in so einem Haus stecken – und davon haben wir hier in Nierstein noch einige mehr.

 

Wie Sie zur nächsten Station kommen, sehen Sie auf der Karte weiter unten auf der Website.

Route zur nächsten Station:

Altes Rathaus / Paläontologisches Museum

Also available in: English Français Nederlands