Geismarer Court

Geißmarer Court

  • English
    • German
    • French
    • Dutch

If you think about your own family history, how far back can you actually trace it? Up to your own grandparents, to your great-grandparents?

 

Probably not much further, right? But how do you know something about the history and owners of the old courts in Nierstein, some of which go back for generations up to the 12th century? Well, mostly from old documents that regulated property or donations. Or from other documents such as church registers or court records. 
This is also the case for the Geißmarer Court. There is an entry in the "Protocol Book of Nierstein’s Knight's Court" from the year 1657. And this is – well, let's say – "piquant" -. The nobleman Johann Heinrich II Mosbach von Lindenfels, who lived here in the Geißmarer Court, sued the servant of the House To the White Swan for assault and insult. The servant had sneered that the “bald nobleman” couldn't even pay his own servants and that his wife was a “frivolous woman”. ”In other words the minion of the White Swan said: “The bald nobleman is broke and his wife is a…” well you know what! What an affront! The insulted nobleman was so angry that he even demanded the death penalty for the mouthy servant. But the high court of knights just waved it off - the two brawlers had probably both a glass of wine too many. And that is something that has always been indulged here in Nierstein... 
Today, of course, there live very friendly and peaceful people here in the Geißmarer Court. But history tells us: Only what has been thoroughly documented can be passed on to the next generations.

 

Well, and that brings us to the end of our kulTOUR 1. If you walk back down the Oberdorfstraße, you will be at the market square in less than 5 minutes. There is a café, restaurants and wineries offering the opportunity for a refreshment or a glass of Nierstein wine.

 

If you would like to learn more about Nierstein’s history, we recommend the books and publications of Nierstein’s History Society. You will find the link to their webpage right here on our website.
Next time, you may also want to take our second tour through Nierstein – this takes you from the town hall to Germany's oldest vineyard and to historic watchtower in the Nierstein hills.

 

So, thanks for taking our tour. We hope you enjoyed it!

Route to the marketplace:

Geismarer Court

  • English
    • German
    • French
    • Dutch

If you think about your own family history, how far back can you actually trace it? Up to your own grandparents, to your great-grandparents?

 

Probably not much further, right? But how do you know something about the history and owners of the old courts in Nierstein, some of which go back for generations up to the 12th century? Well, mostly from old documents that regulated property or donations. Or from other documents such as church registers or court records. 
This is also the case for the Geißmarer Court. There is an entry in the "Protocol Book of Nierstein’s Knight's Court" from the year 1657. And this is – well, let's say – "piquant" -. The nobleman Johann Heinrich II Mosbach von Lindenfels, who lived here in the Geißmarer Court, sued the servant of the House To the White Swan for assault and insult. The servant had sneered that the “bald nobleman” couldn't even pay his own servants and that his wife was a “frivolous woman”. ”In other words the minion of the White Swan said: “The bald nobleman is broke and his wife is a…” well you know what! What an affront! The insulted nobleman was so angry that he even demanded the death penalty for the mouthy servant. But the high court of knights just waved it off - the two brawlers had probably both a glass of wine too many. And that is something that has always been indulged here in Nierstein... 
Today, of course, there live very friendly and peaceful people here in the Geißmarer Court. But history tells us: Only what has been thoroughly documented can be passed on to the next generations.

 

Well, and that brings us to the end of our kulTOUR 1. If you walk back down the Oberdorfstraße, you will be at the market square in less than 5 minutes. There is a café, restaurants and wineries offering the opportunity for a refreshment or a glass of Nierstein wine.

 

If you would like to learn more about Nierstein’s history, we recommend the books and publications of Nierstein’s History Society. You will find the link to their webpage right here on our website.
Next time, you may also want to take our second tour through Nierstein – this takes you from the town hall to Germany's oldest vineyard and to historic watchtower in the Nierstein hills.

 

So, thanks for taking our tour. We hope you enjoyed it!

Route to the marketplace:

Also available in: Deutsch Français Nederlands

Geismarerhof

Geißmarer Hof

  • Deutsch
    • Englisch
    • Französisch
    • Niederländisch

Wenn Sie mal an Ihre Familiengeschichte denken: Wie weit können Sie die eigentlich zurückverfolgen. Bis zu den eigenen Großeltern, zu den Urgroßeltern? Viel weiter wahrscheinlich nicht, oder?

 

Woher aber weiß man nun etwas über die Geschichte und die Besitzer der alten Niersteiner Höfe, die über Generationen zum Teil bis ins 12. Jahrhundert zurückgehen? Nun, meist aus alten Urkunden, die den Grundbesitz oder Schenkungen regelten. Oder aus anderen Schriften wie Kirchenbücher oder Gerichtsakten. Im Fall des Geißmarer Hofs findet sich im „Protokollbuch des Niersteiner Rittergerichts“ ein – naja, sagen wir „pikanter“ – Eintrag aus dem Jahr 1657. Da nämlich verklagte der hier im Geißmarer Hof ansässige Adelige Johann Heinrich II Mosbach von Lindenfels den Knecht aus dem Haus „Zum Weißen Schwan““ wegen tätlichen Angriffs und Beleidigung. Der hatte nämlich gehöhnt, dass der „kahle Edelmann“ seinen eigenen Knecht nicht zahlen könne und seine Liebste eine „leichtfertige Frau“ sei.“ In anderen Worten: „Der Glatzkopf ist pleite und seine Frau ein Luder!“ Was für ein Affront! Der Edelmann war darüber so erzürnt, dass er gar die Todesstrafe für den Knecht forderte. Doch das hohe Rittergericht winkte ab – die beiden Streithähne hatten wohl beide ein bisschen tief ins Glas geschaut. Und damit hatte man in Nierstein schon immer Nachsicht… Heute wohnen hier im Geißmarer Hof natürlich ganz freundliche und friedfertige Leute. Doch die Geschichte zeigt: überliefert ist halt immer nur das, was auch dokumentiert wurde.

 

Tja, und damit sind wir auch am Ende unserer kulTour 1. Wenn Sie die Oberdorfstraße nun wieder zurückgehen, sind Sie in knapp in 5 Minuten wieder am Marktplatz. Dort gibt es Möglichkeiten sich nach unserer Tour zu Stärken oder bei einem Gläschen Niersteiner Wein unsere Tour noch einmal Revue passieren zu lassen.
Wenn Sie mehr über die Geschichte Niersteins erfahren möchten, empfehlen wir Ihnen die Bücher und Hefte des Geschichtsvereins. Den Link dazu finden Sie auf hier auf der Website.
Oder Starten Sie bei Gelegenheit unsere kulTour 2 – die geht vom Niersteiner Rathaus gleich hier um die Ecke in der Bildstockstraße über Deutschlands älteste Weinlage zum Wartturm.

 

Hat Ihnen unserer Tour gefallen? Dann erzählen Sie es gerne weiter! Wir freuen uns drüber!

Route zum Marktplatz:

Angekommen?

Geismarerhof

  • Deutsch
    • Englisch
    • Französisch
    • Niederländisch

Wenn Sie mal an Ihre Familiengeschichte denken: Wie weit können Sie die eigentlich zurückverfolgen. Bis zu den eigenen Großeltern, zu den Urgroßeltern?

 

Viel weiter wahrscheinlich nicht, oder? Woher aber weiß man nun etwas über die Geschichte und die Besitzer der alten Niersteiner Höfe, die über Generationen zum Teil bis ins 12. Jahrhundert zurückgehen? Nun, meist aus alten Urkunden, die den Grundbesitz oder Schenkungen regelten. Oder aus anderen Schriften wie Kirchenbücher oder Gerichtsakten. Im Fall des Geißmarer Hofs findet sich im „Protokollbuch des Niersteiner Rittergerichts“ ein – naja, sagen wir „pikanter“ – Eintrag aus dem Jahr 1657. Da nämlich verklagte der hier im Geißmarer Hof ansässige Adelige Johann Heinrich II Mosbach von Lindenfels den Knecht aus dem Haus „Zum Weißen Schwan““ wegen tätlichen Angriffs und Beleidigung. Der hatte nämlich gehöhnt, dass der „kahle Edelmann“ seinen eigenen Knecht nicht zahlen könne und seine Liebste eine „leichtfertige Frau“ sei.“ In anderen Worten: „Der Glatzkopf ist pleite und seine Frau ein Luder!“ Was für ein Affront! Der Edelmann war darüber so erzürnt, dass er gar die Todesstrafe für den Knecht forderte. Doch das hohe Rittergericht winkte ab – die beiden Streithähne hatten wohl beide ein bisschen tief ins Glas geschaut. Und damit hatte man in Nierstein schon immer Nachsicht… Heute wohnen hier im Geißmarer Hof natürlich ganz freundliche und friedfertige Leute. Doch die Geschichte zeigt: überliefert ist halt immer nur das, was auch dokumentiert wurde.

 

Tja, und damit sind wir auch am Ende unserer kulTour 1. Wenn Sie die Oberdorfstraße nun wieder zurückgehen, sind Sie in knapp in 5 Minuten wieder am Marktplatz. Dort gibt es Möglichkeiten sich nach unserer Tour zu Stärken oder bei einem Gläschen Niersteiner Wein unsere Tour noch einmal Revue passieren zu lassen.
Wenn Sie mehr über die Geschichte Niersteins erfahren möchten, empfehlen wir Ihnen die Bücher und Hefte des Geschichtsvereins. Den Link dazu finden Sie auf hier auf der Website.
Oder Starten Sie bei Gelegenheit unsere kulTour 2 – die geht vom Niersteiner Rathaus gleich hier um die Ecke in der Bildstockstraße über Deutschlands älteste Weinlage zum Wartturm.

 

Hat Ihnen unserer Tour gefallen? Dann erzählen Sie es gerne weiter! Wir freuen uns drüber!

Route zum Marktplatz:

Angekommen?

Also available in: English Français Nederlands