Thurn & Taxis Post Office

Thurn & Taxis Post Office,
19th century

  • English
    • German
    • French
    • Dutch

“High on the yellow stage coach, I am next to the coachman. Steadily the horses trod forward, merrily sounds the horn!”

This is how a well-known German folksong describes the journey with a stagecoach – a reminiscence of a time when letters, documents and parcels were still brought by horse or carriage. And they were also brought to and collected from here at the half-timbered building, which used to be the “Thurn and Taxis Post Office” in the 19th century.

But what actually was the “Thurn und Taxis Post”? Franz von Taxis is considered to be the founder of the modern postal system. About 1490 he was commissioned by the Habsburg Aristocracy to build up a reliable network of couriers. Soon he had established an impressive network of riders, carriages and messengers that reached as far as from Sicily to the Netherland and from Vienna to Lisbon. This way it was finally possible to send messages from city to city with let’s say some degree of reliability. Or – “high on the yellow stage coach!” - to travel by post carriage. For instance here to Nierstein - to the Thurn und Taxis Post Office on the market square. Today the cars and uniforms of the German Post are still colored yellow and black - the original colors of Franz von Taxis.
And just to mention it: in 1863, the Nierstein fire brigade had an exercise here and took a picture of it. It gives a good impression of the times back then! Have a look at historic photo on the website for this stop on your smartphone.

The next stop is again on the other side of the street. The former Palatinate Collection, or today winery Klein.

Route to the next station:

Palatinate Collection

Thurn & Taxis Post Office,
19th century

  • English
    • German
    • French
    • Dutch

“High on the yellow stage coach, I am next to the coachman. Steadily the horses trod forward, merrily sounds the horn!”

This is how a well-known German folksong describes the journey with a stagecoach – a reminiscence of a time when letters, documents and parcels were still brought by horse or carriage. And they were also brought to and collected from here at the half-timbered building, which used to be the “Thurn and Taxis Post Office” in the 19th century.

But what actually was the “Thurn und Taxis Post”? Franz von Taxis is considered to be the founder of the modern postal system. About 1490 he was commissioned by the Habsburg Aristocracy to build up a reliable network of couriers. Soon he had established an impressive network of riders, carriages and messengers that reached as far as from Sicily to the Netherland and from Vienna to Lisbon. This way it was finally possible to send messages from city to city with let’s say some degree of reliability. Or – “high on the yellow stage coach!” - to travel by post carriage. For instance here to Nierstein - to the Thurn und Taxis Post Office on the market square. Today the cars and uniforms of the German Post are still colored yellow and black - the original colors of Franz von Taxis.
And just to mention it: in 1863, the Nierstein fire brigade had an exercise here and took a picture of it. It gives a good impression of the times back then! Have a look at historic photo on the website for this stop on your smartphone.

The next stop is again on the other side of the street. The former Palatinate Collection, or today winery Klein.

Route to the next station:

Palatinate Collection

Also available in: Deutsch Français Nederlands

Poststation Thurn und Taxis

Poststation Thurn & Taxis, 19. Jhd.

  • Deutsch
    • Englisch
    • Französisch
    • Niederländisch

„Hoch auf dem gelben Wagen, sitz ich beim Schwager vorn.Vorwärts die Rosse traben, lustig schmettert das Horn!“ -

Kennen Sie noch das alte Lied von der Fahrt in der Postkutsche?
Es erinnert an eine Zeit, als Post, Briefe und Päckchen noch per Pferd oder eben in der Kutsche gebracht wurden. Auch hierhin, zu dem heute schön sanierten Fachwerkhaus, in dem im 19. Jahrhundert die Thurn-und Tax‘sche Poststation untergebracht war.

Doch was war die Thurn und Tax’sche Post eigentlich? Franz von Taxis gilt als Begründer des neuzeitlichen Postwesens. Um 1490 erhielt er von den Habsburger Herrschern den Auftrag, ein verlässliches Kuriernetz aufzubauen. Schon bald hatte er ein beeindruckendes Netz aus Reitern, Kutschen und Boten ausgebaut, das von Sizilien bis zu den Niederlanden reichte, von Wien bis nach Lissabon. So war es endlich möglich, einigermaßen verlässlich Nachrichten von Stadt zu Stadt zu verschicken. Oder – hoch auf dem gelben Wagen! – mit der Postkutsche zu reisen. Auch hierher nach Nierstein – an die Thurn und Tax‘sche Poststelle am Marktplatz.

Dass heute die Wagen und Uniformen der Post in Gelb und Schwarz gehalten sind, ist übrigens kein Zufall: es sind noch immer die Farben Franz von Taxis.
Übrigens ging hier früher nicht nur die „Post“ ab, sondern gelegentlich auch die „Feuerwehr“! Im Jahr 1863 hielten die Niersteiner Brandschützer hier eine Feuerschutzübung ab, die fotographisch festgehalten wurde. Schauen Sie mal, wie das damals aussah! Wir zeigen Ihnen das historische Foto auf die Webseite zu dieser Station. (kurze Pause)

Die nächste Station ist dann wieder auf der anderen Straßenseite. Die Pfälzische Kollektur, das heutige Weingut Klein.

Route zur nächsten Station:

Pfälzische Kollektur

Poststation Thurn & Taxis,
19. Jhd.

  • Deutsch
    • Englisch
    • Französisch
    • Niederländisch

„Hoch auf dem gelben Wagen, sitz ich beim Schwager vorn. Vorwärts die Rosse traben, lustig schmettert das Horn!“ –

Kennen Sie noch das alte Lied von der Fahrt in der Postkutsche? Es erinnert an eine Zeit, als Post, Briefe und Päckchen noch per Pferd oder eben in der Kutsche gebracht wurden. Auch hierhin, zu dem heute schön sanierten Fachwerkhaus, in dem im 19. Jahrhundert die Thurn-und Tax‘sche Poststation untergebracht war.

Doch was war die Thurn und Tax’sche Post eigentlich? Franz von Taxis gilt als Begründer des neuzeitlichen Postwesens. Um 1490 erhielt er von den Habsburger Herrschern den Auftrag, ein verlässliches Kuriernetz aufzubauen. Schon bald hatte er ein beeindruckendes Netz aus Reitern, Kutschen und Boten ausgebaut, das von Sizilien bis zu den Niederlanden reichte, von Wien bis nach Lissabon. So war es endlich möglich, einigermaßen verlässlich Nachrichten von Stadt zu Stadt zu verschicken. Oder – hoch auf dem gelben Wagen! – mit der Postkutsche zu reisen. Auch hierher nach Nierstein – an die Thurn und Tax‘sche Poststelle am Marktplatz. Dass heute die Wagen und Uniformen der Post in Gelb und Schwarz gehalten sind, ist übrigens kein Zufall: es sind noch immer die Farben Franz von Taxis.

Übrigens ging hier früher nicht nur die „Post“ ab, sondern gelegentlich auch die „Feuerwehr“! Im Jahr 1863 hielten die Niersteiner Brandschützer hier eine Feuerschutzübung ab, die fotographisch festgehalten wurde. Schauen Sie mal, wie das damals aussah! Wir zeigen Ihnen das historische Foto auf die Webseite zu dieser Station. (kurze Pause)

Die nächste Station ist dann wieder auf der anderen Straßenseite. Die Pfälzische Kollektur, das heutige Weingut Klein.

Route zur nächsten Station:

Pfälzische Kollektur

Also available in: English Français Nederlands