Catholic rectory

Catholic rectory,
beginning of the 20th century

  • English
    • German
    • French
    • Dutch

The brick house at the address “Bergkirche 28” was built in 1906/1907 as a branch of the "Sisters of Divine Providence".

Their order was founded in Mainz in 1851 by Bishop Wilhelm Emmanuel von Ketteler and the noblewoman Fanny Friederike Amelia de la Roche-Starkenfels. The Sisters of Divine Providence dedicate themselves to school and health service. With their work they faced the so-called “social question”, meaning the social deficiencies that went along with the advancing industrialization. The religious community still exists today. Their motherhouse has been located at Stefansstrasse 8 in Mainz, near the Stefanskirche, since 1860.
Here in this building in Nierstein, the Catholic parish moved in in 1970. The neo-Gothic brick building with the mansard-hipped roof is classified as “shaping the townscape” by the preservation authorities. Perhaps you noticed the small tower, a so-called “ridge turret”, on the roof. It’s bell used to belong to the Mariacron Monastery in Oppenheim. It bears the inscription: I was cast by Christof Neidhardt anno Domini 1645.

Our next stop ist the St. Kilians Church on the right hand side.

Route to the next station:

Catholic parish church

Catholic rectory,
beginning of the 20th century

  • English
    • German
    • French
    • Dutch

The brick house at the address “Bergkirche 28” was built in 1906/1907 as a branch of the "Sisters of Divine Providence".

Their order was founded in Mainz in 1851 by Bishop Wilhelm Emmanuel von Ketteler and the noblewoman Fanny Friederike Amelia de la Roche-Starkenfels. The Sisters of Divine Providence dedicate themselves to school and health service. With their work they faced the so-called “social question”, meaning the social deficiencies that went along with the advancing industrialization. The religious community still exists today. Their motherhouse has been located at Stefansstrasse 8 in Mainz, near the Stefanskirche, since 1860.
Here in this building in Nierstein, the Catholic parish moved in in 1970. The neo-Gothic brick building with the mansard-hipped roof is classified as “shaping the townscape” by the preservation authorities. Perhaps you noticed the small tower, a so-called “ridge turret”, on the roof. It’s bell used to belong to the Mariacron Monastery in Oppenheim. It bears the inscription: I was cast by Christof Neidhardt anno Domini 1645.

Our next stop ist the St. Kilians Church on the right hand side.

Route to the next station:

Catholic parish church

Also available in: Deutsch Français Nederlands

Katholisches Pfarrhaus

Katholisches Pfarrhaus
Anfang 20. Jhd.

  • Deutsch
    • Englisch
    • Französisch
    • Niederländisch

Das Backsteinhaus an der Bergkirche 28 wurde 1906/1907 gebaut; als Niederlassung der „Schwestern von der Göttlichen Vorsehung“.

Ihre Ordensgemeinschaft wurde 1851 in Mainz gegründet, vom Bischof Wilhelm Emmanuel von Ketteler und der Adeligen Fanny Friederike Amelia de la Roche-Starkenfels. Die Schwestern von der Göttlichen Vorsehung hatten sich dem Schul- und Krankendienst verschrieben und stellten sich mit ihrer Arbeit der so genannten „sozialen Frage“, also den sozialen Missständen, die mit der fortschreitenden Industrialisierung einhergingen. Die Ordensgemeinschaft gibt es übrigens heute noch. Ihr Mutterhaus liegt seit 1860 in der Mainzer Stefansstraße 8, nahe der Stefanskirche.
Hier im Haus in Nierstein ist 1970 das katholische Pfarramt eingezogen. Der neugotische Backsteinbau mit dem auffälligen Mansardwalmdach wird vom Denkmalschutz als „ortsbildprägend“ eingestuft. Vielleicht ist Ihnen auf dem Dach der kleine Turm, ein sogenannter „Dachreiter“, aufgefallen. Die Glocke darin gehörte früher zum Kloster Mariacron in Oppenheim. Sie trägt die Inschrift: Christof Neidhardt in Augsperg (Augsburg) gos mich anno 1645.

Route zur nächsten Station:

Killianskirche

Angekommen?

Katholisches Pfarrhaus,
Anfang 20. Jhd.

  • Deutsch
    • Englisch
    • Französisch
    • Niederländisch

Das Backsteinhaus an der Bergkirche 28 wurde 1906/1907 gebaut; als Niederlassung der „Schwestern von der Göttlichen Vorsehung“.

Ihre Ordensgemeinschaft wurde 1851 in Mainz gegründet, vom Bischof Wilhelm Emmanuel von Ketteler und der Adeligen Fanny Friederike Amelia de la Roche-Starkenfels. Die Schwestern von der Göttlichen Vorsehung hatten sich dem Schul- und Krankendienst verschrieben und stellten sich mit ihrer Arbeit der so genannten „sozialen Frage“, also den sozialen Missständen, die mit der fortschreitenden Industrialisierung einhergingen. Die Ordensgemeinschaft gibt es übrigens heute noch. Ihr Mutterhaus liegt seit 1860 in der Mainzer Stefansstraße 8, nahe der Stefanskirche.
Hier im Haus in Nierstein ist 1970 das katholische Pfarramt eingezogen. Der neugotische Backsteinbau mit dem auffälligen Mansardwalmdach wird vom Denkmalschutz als „ortsbildprägend“ eingestuft. Vielleicht ist Ihnen auf dem Dach der kleine Turm, ein sogenannter „Dachreiter“, aufgefallen. Die Glocke darin gehörte früher zum Kloster Mariacron in Oppenheim. Sie trägt die Inschrift: Christof Neidhardt in Augsperg (Augsburg) gos mich anno 1645.

Route zur nächsten Station:

Kilianskirche

Angekommen?

Also available in: English Français Nederlands