Evangelical Reformed School

Evangelical Reformed School

  • English
    • German
    • French
    • Dutch

In the 18th century this building used to be Nierstein's "Reformed School".

Other than the name suggests, it has nothing to do with “the German Reformschule” which promotes the idea of ​​small class sizes in large rooms, learning by discovery, child appropriate methods and so on. No, the children that went to school here during the 1750s were probably treated just as strictly as usual back then. So: “Sit straight! Keep still! Get the slates out!”
SFX: Children say: "Oh no!"
The name “Reformed” school derives from the “Protestant Reformed Church”, related to those Protestants who strictly adhered to the teachings of Calvin and Zwingli - and who also raised their children respectively. The Reformed Protestants were in favor of a strict ban on images in churches, for instance. All attention should be paid to the word (!) of God. If a congregation converted to the Reformed confession, pictures and statues s were often removed from the churches with brute force. Decorated baptismal fonts were torn out and used as flower pots. The altar was no longer the sanctuary of a church, it simply served as a table.
The countercurrent of the Reformed branch in the Protestant Church was the Lutheran Church, which related to Martin Luther's teaching. There was also a Lutheran schoolhouse in Nierstein, located on the Rheinstrasse. It is a stop of our “Nierstein Tour 2” starting from the Town House.
Our next stop is right next door: the old forge - the building with the wooden porch.

Route to the next station:

The old forge

Evangelical Reformed School

  • English
    • German
    • French
    • Dutch

In the 18th century this building used to be Nierstein's "Reformed School".

Other than the name suggests, it has nothing to do with “the German Reformschule” which promotes the idea of ​​small class sizes in large rooms, learning by discovery, child appropriate methods and so on. No, the children that went to school here during the 1750s were probably treated just as strictly as usual back then. So: “Sit straight! Keep still! Get the slates out!”
SFX: Children say: "Oh no!"
The name “Reformed” school derives from the “Protestant Reformed Church”, related to those Protestants who strictly adhered to the teachings of Calvin and Zwingli - and who also raised their children respectively. The Reformed Protestants were in favor of a strict ban on images in churches, for instance. All attention should be paid to the word (!) of God. If a congregation converted to the Reformed confession, pictures and statues s were often removed from the churches with brute force. Decorated baptismal fonts were torn out and used as flower pots. The altar was no longer the sanctuary of a church, it simply served as a table.
The countercurrent of the Reformed branch in the Protestant Church was the Lutheran Church, which related to Martin Luther's teaching. There was also a Lutheran schoolhouse in Nierstein, located on the Rheinstrasse. It is a stop of our “Nierstein Tour 2” starting from the Town House.
Our next stop is right next door: the old forge - the building with the wooden porch.

Route to the next station:

The old forge

Also available in: Deutsch Français Nederlands

Reformierte Schule

Reformierte Schule, 18. Jhd.

  • Deutsch
    • Englisch
    • Französisch
    • Niederländisch

Hier stehen wir vor der ehemaligen „Reformierten Schule“ Niersteins aus dem 18 Jahrhundert.

Auch wenn es der Name vermuten lässt, das hat nichts mit „Reformschule“ zu tun, also der Idee von kleinen Klassenstärken in großen Räumen, entdeckendem Lernen, kindlicher Entfaltung und so weiter. Nein, die Schüler, die hier um 1750 zur Schule gingen wurden wahrscheinlich genauso streng getriezt wie es damals üblich war. Also: Setzen! Stillhalten! Wachstafel raus!
 „Och nö!“

Der Zusatz „Reformierte“ Schule hängt zusammen mit der „reformieren Kirche“, also jenen Protestanten, die sich streng nach den Lehren Calvins und Zwinglis hielten – und auch die Kinder in diesem Sinne erzogen. Die reformierten Protestanten waren zum Beispiel für ein striktes Bilderverbot in Kirchen. Alle Aufmerksamkeit sollte dem Wort (!) Gottes gelten. Wechselte eine Gemeinde zur reformierten Konfession, wurden Bilder und Figuren nicht selten brachial aus den Kirchen entfernt. Verzierte Taufsteine wurden rausgerissen und als Blumenkübel verwendet. Der Altar war nicht mehr das Heiligtum einer Kirche, sondern diente einfach nur als Tisch.

Die Gegenströmung der Reformierten in der evangelischen Kirche war die lutherische Kirche, die die Lehre Luthers vertrat. Auch sie hatte hier in Nierstein ein eigenes Schulhaus, das in der Rheinstraße stand und an dem unsere „Nierstein Tour 2“ Station macht.

Die nächste Station finden Sie gleich links nebenan: das Gebäude mit dem hölzernen Vorbau: die alte Schmiede.

Route zur nächsten Station:

Alte Schmiede

Angekommen?

Reformierte Schule, 18. Jhd.

  • Deutsch
    • Englisch
    • Französisch
    • Niederländisch

Hier stehen wir vor der ehemaligen „Reformierten Schule“ Niersteins aus dem 18 Jahrhundert.

Auch wenn es der Name vermuten lässt, das hat nichts mit „Reformschule“ zu tun, also der Idee von kleinen Klassenstärken in großen Räumen, entdeckendem Lernen, kindlicher Entfaltung und so weiter. Nein, die Schüler, die hier um 1750 zur Schule gingen wurden wahrscheinlich genauso streng getriezt wie es damals üblich war. Also: Setzen! Stillhalten! Wachstafel raus!
 „Och nö!“

Der Zusatz „Reformierte“ Schule hängt zusammen mit der „reformieren Kirche“, also jenen Protestanten, die sich streng nach den Lehren Calvins und Zwinglis hielten – und auch die Kinder in diesem Sinne erzogen. Die reformierten Protestanten waren zum Beispiel für ein striktes Bilderverbot in Kirchen. Alle Aufmerksamkeit sollte dem Wort (!) Gottes gelten. Wechselte eine Gemeinde zur reformierten Konfession, wurden Bilder und Figuren nicht selten brachial aus den Kirchen entfernt. Verzierte Taufsteine wurden rausgerissen und als Blumenkübel verwendet. Der Altar war nicht mehr das Heiligtum einer Kirche, sondern diente einfach nur als Tisch.

Die Gegenströmung der Reformierten in der evangelischen Kirche war die lutherische Kirche, die die Lehre Luthers vertrat. Auch sie hatte hier in Nierstein ein eigenes Schulhaus, das in der Rheinstraße stand und an dem unsere „Nierstein Tour 2“ Station macht.

Die nächste Station finden Sie gleich links nebenan: das Gebäude mit dem hölzernen Vorbau: die alte Schmiede.

Route zur nächsten Station:

Alte Schmiede

Angekommen?

Also available in: English Français Nederlands