Dalberg-Herding Castle

Dalberg-Herding Castle,
19. century.

  • English
    • German
    • French
    • Dutch

The Dalberg-Herding Castle was built in 1842 and was named after the barons of Dalberg, who once had a medieval estate here, and Dame Ursula von Herding, who acquired the property, and had her castle built on it.

In the early 1900s a brewery bought the site, later a malt factory was added. The large grain silos shaped Nierstein townscape for a long time. Until the excavators arrived in 2012 and the property was converted into a three-wing complex with private apartments.
It is a bit of a sensation that the castle’s chapel with the valuable frescoes by the painter Jakob Götzenberger survived all of this.
The main fresco depicts the adoration of baby Jesus. The fact that the colors still appear so fresh and luminous today is due to a special painting technique: the artist painted with wax colors that were applied hot onto the walls. This is called "encaustic".
Aloft there are the angels with the instruments of torture, an anticipation of the young Savior’s destiny.
On the right side wall, the evangelist John is depicted in exile on the isle of Patmos writing the Book of Revelation - under divine inspiration.
On the opposite side: Maria Magdalena as penitent - with cross, Bible and skull as an indication of the transience of life.
It is said that the Nierstein citizens acted as models to the painter. Some of them can still be assigned to Nierstein families.
Castle-owner Ursula von Herding never moved in here. She preferred to stay far away in Munich - it is said that she did not even visit her property once. You probably have to be blessed to being able to afford that...

Route to the next station:

The Glöck vinyard

Dalberg-Herding Castle,
19th century

  • English
    • German
    • French
    • Dutch

The Dalberg-Herding Castle was built in 1842 and was named after the barons of Dalberg, who once had a medieval estate here, and Dame Ursula von Herding, who acquired the property, and had her castle built on it.

In the early 1900s a brewery bought the site, later a malt factory was added. The large grain silos shaped Nierstein townscape for a long time. Until the excavators arrived in 2012 and the property was converted into a three-wing complex with private apartments.
It is a bit of a sensation that the castle’s chapel with the valuable frescoes by the painter Jakob Götzenberger survived all of this.
The main fresco depicts the adoration of baby Jesus. The fact that the colors still appear so fresh and luminous today is due to a special painting technique: the artist painted with wax colors that were applied hot onto the walls. This is called "encaustic".
Aloft there are the angels with the instruments of torture, an anticipation of the young Savior’s destiny.
On the right side wall, the evangelist John is depicted in exile on the isle of Patmos writing the Book of Revelation - under divine inspiration.
On the opposite side: Maria Magdalena as penitent - with cross, Bible and skull as an indication of the transience of life.
It is said that the Nierstein citizens acted as models to the painter. Some of them can still be assigned to Nierstein families.
Castle-owner Ursula von Herding never moved in here. She preferred to stay far away in Munich - it is said that she did not even visit her property once. You probably have to be blessed to being able to afford that...

Route to the next station:

The Glöck vinyard

Also available in: Deutsch Français Nederlands

Schloss Dalberg-Herding

Schloss Dalberg-Herding,
19. Jhd.

  • Deutsch
    • Englisch
    • Französisch
    • Niederländisch

Seit 1842 steht in Nierstein das Dalberg-Herdingsche Schloss – benannt nach den Freiherrn von Dalberg, die hier einst ein mittelalterliches Hofgut hatten, und Ursula Freifrau von Herding, die den Besitz erwarb und darauf ihr Schloss erbauen ließ.
Anfang 1900 kaufte eine Brauerei das Gelände, später kam eine Malzfabrik dazu, deren große Getreidespeicher lange das Ortsbild prägten. Bis 2012 die Bagger kamen und das Anwesen als Dreiflügelanlage mit Privatwohnungen umgebaut wurde.
Eine kleine Sensation: dass die Schlosskapelle mit den wertvollen Fresken des Malers Jakob Götzenberger das alles überlebt hat.
Das Hauptfresko stellt die Anbetung des Christuskindes dar. Dass die Farben heute noch so frisch und strahlend erscheinen, liegt auch an einer besonderen Maltechnik, bei der mit heißer Wachsfarbe gemalt wurde. „Enkaustik“ nennt man das.
Hoch oben die Engel mit den Leidenswerkzeugen, die die Bestimmung des jungen Heilands bereits vorwegnehmen.
Auf rechten Seitenwand schreibt der Evangelist Johannes im Exil auf Patmos an seiner Offenbarung - unter göttlicher Eingebung.
Gegenüberliegend: Maria Magdalena als Büßerin – mit Kreuz, Bibel und Totenkopf als Hinweis auf die Vergänglichkeit des Lebens.
Für die Fresken haben damals übrigens Niersteiner Bürger dem Maler Modell gestanden. Einige von ihnen lassen sich heute noch Niersteiner Familien zuordnen.
Die Schlosserbauerin Ursula von Herding ist übrigens nie hier eingezogen. Sie hat es vorgezogen im fernen München bleiben – es heißt, Sie habe ihr Anwesen nicht einmal besucht. Gesegnet, wenn man sich das leisten kann…

Route zur nächsten Station:

Glöck

Angekommen?

Schloss Dalberg-Herding,
19. Jhd.

  • Deutsch
    • Englisch
    • Französisch
    • Niederländisch

Seit 1842 steht in Nierstein das Dalberg-Herdingsche Schloss – benannt nach den Freiherrn von Dalberg, die hier einst ein mittelalterliches Hofgut hatten, und Ursula Freifrau von Herding, die den Besitz erwarb und darauf ihr Schloss erbauen ließ.
Anfang 1900 kaufte eine Brauerei das Gelände, später kam eine Malzfabrik dazu, deren große Getreidespeicher lange das Ortsbild prägten. Bis 2012 die Bagger kamen und das Anwesen als Dreiflügelanlage mit Privatwohnungen umgebaut wurde.
Eine kleine Sensation: dass die Schlosskapelle mit den wertvollen Fresken des Malers Jakob Götzenberger das alles überlebt hat.
Das Hauptfresko stellt die Anbetung des Christuskindes dar. Dass die Farben heute noch so frisch und strahlend erscheinen, liegt auch an einer besonderen Maltechnik, bei der mit heißer Wachsfarbe gemalt wurde. „Enkaustik“ nennt man das.
Hoch oben die Engel mit den Leidenswerkzeugen, die die Bestimmung des jungen Heilands bereits vorwegnehmen.
Auf rechten Seitenwand schreibt der Evangelist Johannes im Exil auf Patmos an seiner Offenbarung - unter göttlicher Eingebung.
Gegenüberliegend: Maria Magdalena als Büßerin – mit Kreuz, Bibel und Totenkopf als Hinweis auf die Vergänglichkeit des Lebens.
Für die Fresken haben damals übrigens Niersteiner Bürger dem Maler Modell gestanden. Einige von ihnen lassen sich heute noch Niersteiner Familien zuordnen.
Die Schlosserbauerin Ursula von Herding ist übrigens nie hier eingezogen. Sie hat es vorgezogen im fernen München bleiben – es heißt, Sie habe ihr Anwesen nicht einmal besucht. Gesegnet, wenn man sich das leisten kann…

Route zur nächsten Station:

Glöck

Angekommen?

Also available in: English Français Nederlands