Sternenfelser Court

Sternenfelser Court

  • English
    • German
    • French
    • Dutch

In its long history of 400 years, the Sternenfelser Court can look back on a who’s who of the long-established nobility.

The courtyard once belonged to the church. Then it came into possession of the noble family “Schütz von Holzhausen”, then the families of von Schönborn, von Bubenheim and von Harstall. In 1750 it was finally taken over by the Lords of Sternenfels. The court still bear their name today - even if it is now home to the renowned Kopp winery.
The fact that so many nobel families wanted to own courts and properties in Nierstein is due to a special status that the “Civitas”, the city of Nierstein, has had since the 13th century.
"Many of them [...] sought for possession in Nierstein because Nierstein was a free imperial village and belonged to the imperial knighthood. And you could only become a member in the different sections of the Imperial Knighthood if you owned property in these places ... "
... says Dr. Susanne Bräckelmann from Nierstein’s History Association.
“This organization was then responsible, for example, for collecting taxes, deciding on legal issues, […] and on the other hand you were of course also a political factor.”
Right! Because imperial knights who owned property in Nierstein were directly subordinate to the emperor - actually a privilege of the higher nobility and aristocracy. The proximity to the imperial throne promised influence and power. For this reason, the noble families who were already here paid close attention to who wanted to become a new neighbor!
By the way, the latest majesty of the Sternenfelser court was in fact elected very democratically: Rheinhessen’s Wine Queen in 2017/2018, called Lea Kopp!

The map at the end of this website shows you how to get to our next stop.

Route to the next station:

Geismarer Court

Sternenfelser Court

  • English
    • German
    • French
    • Dutch

In its long history of 400 years, the Sternenfelser Court can look back on a who’s who of the long-established nobility.

The courtyard once belonged to the church. Then it came into possession of the noble family “Schütz von Holzhausen”, then the families of von Schönborn, von Bubenheim and von Harstall. In 1750 it was finally taken over by the Lords of Sternenfels. The court still bear their name today - even if it is now home to the renowned Kopp winery.
The fact that so many nobel families wanted to own courts and properties in Nierstein is due to a special status that the “Civitas”, the city of Nierstein, has had since the 13th century.
"Many of them [...] sought for possession in Nierstein because Nierstein was a free imperial village and belonged to the imperial knighthood. And you could only become a member in the different sections of the Imperial Knighthood if you owned property in these places ... "
... says Dr. Susanne Bräckelmann from Nierstein’s History Association.
“This organization was then responsible, for example, for collecting taxes, deciding on legal issues, […] and on the other hand you were of course also a political factor.”
Right! Because imperial knights who owned property in Nierstein were directly subordinate to the emperor - actually a privilege of the higher nobility and aristocracy. The proximity to the imperial throne promised influence and power. For this reason, the noble families who were already here paid close attention to who wanted to become a new neighbor!
By the way, the latest majesty of the Sternenfelser court was in fact elected very democratically: Rheinhessen’s Wine Queen in 2017/2018, called Lea Kopp!

The map at the end of this website shows you how to get to our next stop.

Route to the next station:

Geismarer Court

Also available in: Deutsch Français Nederlands

Sternenfelserhof

Sternenfelserhof

  • Deutsch
    • Englisch
    • Französisch
    • Niederländisch

Der Sternenfelser Hof kann in seiner rund 400-jährigen Besitzgeschichte auf ein who-is-who des Adels zurückblicken. Einst gehörte der Hof der Kirche. Dann kam er in Besitz der Schütz von Holzhausen, dann derer von Schönborn, von Bubenheim und von Harstall. 1750 schließlich übernahmen ihn die Herren von Sternenfels. Ihren Namen trägt der Hof noch heute – auch wenn er mittlerweile das renommierte Weingut Kopp beherbergt.
Dass so viele Adelsfamilien Interesse an den Höfen und Grundstücken in Nierstein hatten, liegt übrigens an einer Besonderheit die die Civitas Nierstein schon seit dem 13. Jahrhundert innehatte.
12:23 „Viele […] haben Besitz in Nierstein erstrebt, weil Nierstein ein freies Reichsdorf war und zur Reichsritterschaft gehörig war. Und man konnte nur Mitglied in diesen unterschiedlichen Sektionen der Reichsritterschaft werden, wenn man Besitz in diesen Orten hatte...“
…sagt Dr. Susanne Bräckelmann vom Geschichtsverein Nierstein.
„Diese Organisation war dann zuständig zum Beispiel Steuern zu erheben, juristische Fragen zu entscheiden, […] und zum anderen waren Sie dadurch natürlich auch ein politischer Faktor.
Ganz genau, denn die Reichsritter, die Besitz in Nierstein hatten, waren direkt dem Kaiser unterstellt – eigentlich ein Privileg des Hochadels. Die Nähe zum Kaiserthron versprach Einfluss und Macht. Schon deshalb achteten die hier bereits ansässigen Adeligen ganz genau darauf, wer hier neuer Nachbar werden wollte!
Ganz demokratisch gewählt wurde übrigens die vorerst letzte Hoheit aus dem Sternenfelser Hof: die Rheinhessische Weinkönigin 2017/2018 – Lea Kopp!
Wie Sie zur nächsten Station kommen, sehen Sie auf der Karte weiter unten auf der Website.

Route zur nächsten Station:

Geismarerhof

Angekommen?

Sternenfelserhof

  • Deutsch
    • Englisch
    • Französisch
    • Niederländisch

Der Sternenfelser Hof kann in seiner rund 400-jährigen Besitzgeschichte auf ein who-is-who des Adels zurückblicken. Einst gehörte der Hof der Kirche. Dann kam er in Besitz der Schütz von Holzhausen, dann derer von Schönborn, von Bubenheim und von Harstall. 1750 schließlich übernahmen ihn die Herren von Sternenfels. Ihren Namen trägt der Hof noch heute – auch wenn er mittlerweile das renommierte Weingut Kopp beherbergt.
Dass so viele Adelsfamilien Interesse an den Höfen und Grundstücken in Nierstein hatten, liegt übrigens an einer Besonderheit die die Civitas Nierstein schon seit dem 13. Jahrhundert innehatte.
12:23 „Viele […] haben Besitz in Nierstein erstrebt, weil Nierstein ein freies Reichsdorf war und zur Reichsritterschaft gehörig war. Und man konnte nur Mitglied in diesen unterschiedlichen Sektionen der Reichsritterschaft werden, wenn man Besitz in diesen Orten hatte...“
…sagt Dr. Susanne Bräckelmann vom Geschichtsverein Nierstein.
„Diese Organisation war dann zuständig zum Beispiel Steuern zu erheben, juristische Fragen zu entscheiden, […] und zum anderen waren Sie dadurch natürlich auch ein politischer Faktor.
Ganz genau, denn die Reichsritter, die Besitz in Nierstein hatten, waren direkt dem Kaiser unterstellt – eigentlich ein Privileg des Hochadels. Die Nähe zum Kaiserthron versprach Einfluss und Macht. Schon deshalb achteten die hier bereits ansässigen Adeligen ganz genau darauf, wer hier neuer Nachbar werden wollte!
Ganz demokratisch gewählt wurde übrigens die vorerst letzte Hoheit aus dem Sternenfelser Hof: die Rheinhessische Weinkönigin 2017/2018 – Lea Kopp!
Wie Sie zur nächsten Station kommen, sehen Sie auf der Karte weiter unten auf der Website.

Route zur nächsten Station:

Geismarerhof

Angekommen?

Also available in: English Français Nederlands